December 2014: Mingle all the way

I have to confess. I’m one of those people who can (and does) listen to holiday music any time of the year. I grew up in a family of seven children and, although money was always tight, my parents found a way to make Christmas special for us every year. I love the traditions we had growing up, from joining the throngs of people bundled up in their cars driving around, looking at neighborhood lights to watching “It’s a Wonderful Life” on TV and waking up to presents and monkey bread on Christmas morning. Now, with three small children at home, my husband and I are creating our own family traditions like homemade chili after Christmas Eve services and cocktails after the kids are in bed while we frantically wrap gifts.

My youngest daughter, Jillian, last Christmas morning, devouring a cinnamon roll, after licking off the icing first.
My youngest daughter, Jillian, last Christmas morning, devouring a cinnamon roll, after licking off the icing first.

Another tradition I hope to see continued is a holiday gathering of IABC members and friends – a chance to slow down and enjoy each other’s company in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the season. This year we are teaming up with NCPRSA to jointly host our Holiday Happy Hour at Lily’s Pizza in Durham on Tuesday, Dec. 9. We had a great turnout in July when we co-hosted our last happy hour event, and we’re hoping for a repeat. The event is free to members and $5 for non-members at the door. Please register online so we know how much food to order.

My 71-year-old father attempting to figure out his first iPhone.
My 71-year-old father attempting to figure out his first iPhone.

Looking ahead to 2015, we will join Shane Johnston and Jon Barlow at Capstrat on Jan. 13 to learn more about integrated marketing campaigns. Then on Feb. 10 Mindy Hamlin from RDU Airport Authority will tackle crisis communications. You’ll also get a chance to tour the airport’s newly renovated Terminal 2. And be sure to save the date for our spring conference, April 9 at UNC’s Friday Center in Chapel Hill. We have an exciting lineup of presenters in place to examine the new “Communications Crossroads: Where Internal and External Communications Intersect.” You won’t want to miss it.

No matter what holiday traditions you celebrate, I speak on behalf of the entire board when I wish you a most joyous season and happy new year!